Sara and Ollie said their vows at their dream wedding venue, Usk Castle

“Ollie was living with his parents, near my nan’s farm,” says Sara. “We had never met as we went to different schools, and Ollie initially thought that I was older, so never took the opportunity to approach me, but in his own words, it was love at first sight.”

Ollie tells us all about his proposal plans. “I took my parents to the spot where Sara and I often stopped while walking the dogs,” shares Ollie. “We met harpist Kathryn Anne Rees at the clearing and hung ribbon from the branches, littered the floor with rose petals and set up a picnic blanket complete with champagne, chocolate and strawberries. Sara was completely oblivious! For all she knew, we were just walking the dogs, but as we got closer, she could hear the harp. She looked at me puzzled, and as we walked a little further, we could see the decorations and Kathryn playing. Sara took my hand and pulled me back and said ‘babe she must be making a music video’ and I said ‘no this is for you.’ It was perfect! I could barely get my words out, and neither could she. We were so happy sitting on the blanket in the dappled sunshine listening to Kathryn. It was magical and more than I ever wished or dreamed it could be.”

Sara and Ollie's contacts

Venue, Usk Castle, www.uskcastle.com 
Photographer, Megan-Sian Photography, www.megan-sianphotography.com
Videographer, White Rose Wedding Films, www.whiteroseweddingfilms.co.uk 
Bride's dress, accessories and bridesmaids' dresses, Bridal Lane, www.bridal-lane.co.uk 
Groom's suit, Reiss, www.reiss.com; Hugo Boss, www.hugoboss.com 
Hair stylist, Wags Hair Studio, www.wags-hair-studio.edan.io 
Make-up artist, Zoe Trigwell Makeup, www.facebook.com/zoetrigwellmakeupacademy
Cake, Dennison Bakes, www.dennisonbakes.co.uk 
Flowers, The Flower Shed, www.theflowershedundy.co.uk 
Transport, All Stretched Out, https://allstretchedout.co.uk 
Furniture, Valley Furniture Hire, www.valleyfurniturehire.com 
Harpist, Kathryn Anne Rees, www.kathrynannereesharp.co.uk 
Caricaturist, Mark Bowen, www.warble-entertainment.com 
Catering, Vegan To You, www.vegantoyou.co.uk 
Celebrant, Barbara Natasegara, www.humanist.org.uk/barbaranatasegara

You may also be interested in

Holm House Hotel is a perfect example of ornate early 19th-century architecture

Holm House Hotel is a perfect example of ornate early 19th-century architecture

Built in 1926 by JS Neale, Holm House Hotel is a perfect example of...

READ ARTICLE

10 Most Instagrammed UK Wedding Venues

10 Most Instagrammed UK Wedding Venues

With over 278,000 UK weddings expected to take place in 2023, there's no doubt that couples across the country...

READ ARTICLE

How to save money on your next wedding gift

How to save money on your next wedding gift

Receiving an invitation to a wedding is always an exciting time. However, deciding what gift to buy the...

READ ARTICLE

Baroque Boutique has won the Best Occasionwear Award in East Wales

Baroque Boutique has won the Best Occasionwear Award in East Wales

Baroque Boutique has won the Best Occasionwear Award in East Wales for the sixth...

READ ARTICLE

Follow Your South Wales Wedding Magazine on Facebook

VISIT SITE

Submit your wedding to be featured in Your South Wales Wedding Magazine

VISIT SITE

Subscribe to Your South Wales Wedding Magazine for free

VISIT SITE

Pencoed House

VISIT SITE